high level dialogue for a globalised world


Since its foundation AECA (the American European Community Association) has become increasingly recognised as a leading international forum for informed dialogue and as a high quality network for the international business, political and diplomatic communities. AECA greatly benefits from the prestige and support of the distinguished members of both the Board of Directors and newly formed International Advisory Council . This endorsement has been of key importance in the interface between the association and its members, and the international business and policy-making communities. Members of the International Advisory Council are of different nationalities and bring with them a wealth of experience and expertise from their varied backgrounds as senior leaders in the business and policy-making arenas.
It is with great sadness that we learned about the passing of Paul, Baron De Keersmaeker (14 July 1929 – 16 December 2022), former chairman of AECA (2007-2010). Together with all who knew him during his lifetime, we mourn his passing and thank him for all the valuable input, time and support that he so generously provided to our International Association throughout the years.

Board of directors

Leonard H. Schrank Chairman of the Board  
Baron Luc Bertrand Chairman of the Board, Ackermans & van Haaren
H.S.H. Prince Henri d’Arenberg Founder and Chairman, be.Source, a private foundation under Belgian law
Kristof Doms Partner, Platinium Executive Search
Gilles Dryancour John Deere Fellow, Vice-President-Corporate Affairs John Deere GmbH & Co. KG
Eva Grut-Aandahl Vice-President International Policy and Head of Pfizer’s EU European Government Affairs
John Largent Former AECA Chairman
Burkhard Ober Associate Partner, Hume Brophy  
Yves Tavernier Lawyer, Yves Tavernier Lawyers
Baron Frans van Daele Minister of State; Former Head of Cabinet to His Majesty the King of Belgium


Count Etienne Davignon, Chairman Belgian Minister of State;  Member of the Board of Directors, SN Airholding
Count Herman van Rompuy, Vice–Chairman Minister of State; President Emeritus, European Council; President, European Policy Centre
Baron Jean-Pierre Berghmans Chairman, Lhoist Group
Amaury de Seze Vice Chairman, Power Corporation, Canada
H.E. Anthony L. Gardner Former U.S. Ambassador to the European Union; Managing Partner, Brookfield Private Equity Group
Baron Jan Grauls Honorary Ambassador and Senior Advisor, Ernst & Young Belgium
Baron Jan Huyghebaert Chairman, Queen Elisabeth International Music Competition
H.E. William E. Kennard Former U.S. Ambassador to the EU; Chairman & Co- Founder, Velocitas Partners LLC
Neelie Kroes Former Vice President and Commissioner for Competition Policy and Digital Agenda, European Commission
Thomas Leysen Chairman, Umicore; Chairman Mediahuis; Honorary Chairman, KBC Group
Deborah P. Majoras Chief Legal Officer and Secretary, Procter & Gamble
Prof.Dr. Mario Monti President, Bocconi University Milan
Ambassador Piet Steel Honorary Chairman, Belgium Hong Kong Society
JoAnn C. Stonier Executive Vice President, Chief Information Governance & Privacy Officer, MasterCard Worldwide